Tony McCoy, Carl Frampton and James Nesbitt to be recognised in New Year Honours list

Tony McCoy, Carl Frampton and Jimmy Nesbitt have all been recognised in the New Year Honours list.

Racing legend McCoy has been awarded a knighthood in recognition of his services to horseracing.

Carl Frampton said he was “Happy and proud”

James Nesbitt has said his receiving an OBE will “give credence” to the cause of those left searching for loved ones following the Troubles in Northern Ireland. The Missing star was awarded the honour in the New Year’s list for services to Northern Ireland and to acting, after years of work helping families affected by the conflict. Originally from Coleraine, Co Londonderry, Mr Nesbitt is a patron of Wave Trauma Centre, which supports people bereaved, injured or traumatised during the years of violence.

Click to see the full New Year’s Honours list

Actress Barbara Windsor joins the ranks of Judi Dench, Maggie Smith and Helen Mirren in receiving a damehood, Luther actor Idris Elba is awarded an OBE for services to drama. Selma actor David Oyelowo, Blur frontman Damon Albarn and former Manchester United forward Denis Law are just a few of a number of people receiving honours on The New Year’s Honours list 2016.