Another Successful Year at the Shaz Awards at @CabaretBelfast

Mark Murray

Northern Ireland’s leading make up industry awards took place recently for the fifth consecutive year.  The Shaz Awards, founded by Belfast woman Ciara Daly who has been working in the make-up industry for over a decade, returned to AM:PM’s Cabaret Supper Club with a packed out audience as nine illustrious awards were up for grabs. 

Ciara’s Lisburn Road based make up academy is one of Ireland’s most sought after training facilities, offering courses for beginners to the more experienced artists; and it has created and nurtured some of Ireland’s freshest creative talent.

The awards are named after Ciara’s mother Sharon, affectionately known as Shaz, who passed away suddenly in 2006Their aim is to celebrate and encourage creative talent within the burgeoning make up industry by celebrating excellence and creativity.  Compere extraordinaire Lady Portia Diamonte aka drag queen Marcus Hunter Neill, was the host for the evening and entertained the crowd as he handed out the awards in between funny gags and performing numbers. 

Speaking at the awards bash Ciara said, “What a fantastic night and another successful year for the Shaz awards.   Each year I’m blown away by our students’ skills and talent, but also by their inspirational stories and the work of other artists out there.  It’s a pleasure to award my students and those who touch me each year with their stories, compassion, determination and talent.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

She continued: “I have been inspired over the years by so many of my students who have gone through difficult times and instead of letting it get the better of them, they’ve put their energy into learning a new skill in make up artistry and turning it into a real positive.  I think it’s really important to recognise that and to incentivise the students with these awards.”

The judges for the awards on the night included make-up artists DJ Griffin and Leanne Crossan, photographer Ross McKelvey and blogger and boutique owner Anita Ross.



List of winners:


Photoshoot of the Year:                        Holly McNaghten (Larne)

Student of the Year:                             Gayle Lindsay (Belfast)

Face of Ciara Daly Make Up:              Fionnula Harte (Belfast)

Hairdresser of the Year:                       Lee Stinton (Lisburn)

Photographer of the Year:                   Glen Norwood (Belfast)

Team Member of the Year:                  Mark Murray (Belfast)

Phoenix Award:                                   Brendan Daly (Belfast)

Creative Make Up Award:                   Alicia McVeigh (Cookstown)

Love Belfast
Belfast guide to restaurants, bars, nightclubs, concerts, events, hotels, entertainment, special offers, news, gossip, travel, festivals and culture.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles