Shaz Awards Continue to ‘Make Up’ Northern Ireland’s Top Talent

SHAZ AWARDS at Cabaret
SHAZ AWARDS at Cabaret
SHAZ AWARDS at Cabaret

The make up industry’s coveted Shaz Awards, founded by businesswoman Ciara Daly, who has been working in the make up industry for over a decade, recently returned to Belfast for a sixth consecutive year.  Nine illustrious awards were up for grabs on the night and the audience was packed with some of Northern Ireland’s leading make up artists, models and photographers all shortlisted for the top prizes.


Ciara’s Lisburn Road based make up academy is one of Ireland’s most sought after training facilities, offering courses for beginners to more experienced artists; and it has created and nurtured some of Ireland’s freshest creative talent.

The Shaz Awards, named after Ciara’s mother Sharon who sadly passed away in 2006, were created to celebrate and encourage creative talent within the burgeoning make up industry by celebrating excellence and creativity.

Ciara Daly (1)

Ciara said at the awards, “What a fantastic way to celebrate another year of unbelievable talent.  I am constantly in awe of the work produced by the skills of our current and former students. I created the awards not only to recognise this incredible work, but also to credit the inspirational stories and development of the students’ careers.  I’m so glad I did because we’ve seen some real talent shine through.”

She continued: “I have been so inspired throughout the years by my students and without such talent and dedication, the Shaz Awards could not have returned for its sixth year.  It has been a pleasure to work alongside these students who have touched me with their stories, compassion, determination and talent and I think it is important that this is recognised through the awards. ”

The judges for the awards included photographer Glenn Norwood, online retailer Samantha Lemon Bell, hairdresser Lee Stinton and make-up artist Nuala Campbell.

List of winners:

  1. Photoshoot of the Year – Aileen Traynor
  2. Retailer of the Year – Janette Aiken
  3. Photographer of the Year – Tony Webster
  4. Hairdresser of the Year – James Wallace
  5. Face of Ciara Daly – Claire Gunn
  6. Student of the Year – Heather Cromie
  7. Team Member of the Year – Ashley Daly
  8. Phoenix Award – Andrea Kirwan
  9. Creative Award – Judged on evening by panel of 4 – Eimear Scullion – Tribal Princess

Leave a Reply