Tightening Crashed Ice title battle moves to Belfast

Crashed Ice

BELFAST (Northern Ireland) – The 2015 Ice Cross Downhill World Championship battle is shaping up to be the most exciting ever with a different winner at every race so far. The world’s fastest sport on skates will move to Belfast, Northern Ireland for the first time with the competition in front of the dazzling white facade of the city’s iconic Parliament Buildings at Stormont.

Scott Croxall is riding high after winning the first race of his sterling seven-year career in Helsinki on February 7, a victory that turned the championship battle into a wide-open five-way battle. The Canadian is confident that he can keep the momentum going in Belfast after ending a jinx in the finals that saw him come up empty-handed in astonishing 13 finals appearances before Helsinki. His brother Kyle Croxall (1737.5 points), who won the season opener in Saint Paul, saw his overall championship lead shrink as defending champion Marco Dallago of Austria (1612.5) took second in Helsinki and moved into second place overall just ahead of Canada’s Dean Moriarity (1560), Scott Croxall (1515) and American Cameron Naasz in fifth (1412).

“We’re all really excited about the race in Belfast,” said Scott Croxall after his maiden win in Helsinki. He added the riders were looking forward to racing on a unique new track built in front of the Parliament Buildings. “The track design looks like one of the best courses we’ve ever seen,” he said, referring to the track that is almost completely linear and passes on a massive bridge next to the 12-foot high Lord Carson Statue shortly before the sprint finish. The Ice Cross Downhill athletes will be competing in the Riders Cup in Jyväskylä, Finland – a competition designed “by riders for riders” – on February 14 and will then travel to the third Red Bull Crashed Ice stop of the eight-race season.

Buy tickets = http://tidd.ly/ab1b3d71

World Championship Standings: 1. Kyle Croxall (CAN) 1737.5 points, 2. Marco Dallago (AUT) 1612.5, 3. Dean Moriarity (CAN) 1650, 4. Scott Croxall (CAN) 1515, 5. Cameron Naasz (USA) 1412, 6. Dylan Moriarity (CAN) 930, 7. Miikka Jouhkimainen (FIN) 872.5, 8. Dan Witty (USA) 775, 9. Adam Horst (CAN) 560, 10. Tristan Dugerdil (FRA) 482.5

Leave a Reply